Billboard Music Awards - dick clark productions

Billboard Music Awards

The Billboard Music Awards honors some of the hottest names in music today. The 2016 Billboard Music Awards aired on Sunday, May 22, 2016 LIVE on ABC.

Awards were given for the top album/artist/single in different genres. 2016 award recipients included Adele, Justin Bieber, Luke Bryan, Drake, Fetty Wap, One Direction, Taylor Swift, twenty one pilots and The Weeknd.

The 2016 show was hosted by entertainment mogul Ludacris and Ciara, with amazing performances from Justin Bieber, Celine Dion, DNCE, Fifth Harmony with Ty Dolla $ign, The Go-Go’s, Ariana Grande, Nick Jonas with Tove Lo, Demi Lovato, Madonna with Stevie Wonder, Shawn Mendes, P!nk, Rihanna, Troye Sivan, Britney Spears, Gwen Stefani and Blake Shelton and Meghan Trainor.

Billboard Music Awards finalists are based on key fan interactions with music, including album and digital songs sales, radio airplay, streaming, touring and social interactions on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube, Spotify and other popular online destinations for music. These measurements are tracked year-round by Billboard and its data partners, including Nielsen Music and Next Big Sound. The awards are based on the reporting period of March 10, 2014 through March 8, 2015. Since 1940, the Billboard charts have been the go-to guide for ranking the popularity of songs and albums, and are the ultimate measure of a musician’s success.