Miss America - dick clark productions
dick clark productions
More Info

Miss America

The annual Miss America Competition is an evening filled with glitz and glam when 51 women representing their home states and territories compete to bring home the crown. All the contestants boast smarts and talents, which will result in an intense competition for the coveted Miss America title.

Miss North Dakota, Cara Mund, was crowned Miss America 2018 tonight at the birthplace of the legendary competition in Atlantic City’s Boardwalk Hall for its 97th Anniversary broadcast on the ABC Television Network. Returning for his 9th time as host, Chris Harrison was joined by co-host Sage Steele and celebrity judges Maria Menounos, Thomas Rhett, Molly Sims, Jordin Sparks, Tara Lipinski, Miss America 2014 Nina Davuluri and PEOPLE Editor in Chief Jess Cagle. 

Cara is an Ivy League honors graduate from Brown University who is headed to law school. At age 14, Cara founded North Dakota’s Annual Make-A-Wish Fashion Show. For 10 years, Cara has brightened 23 Wish Kids’ lives, became a “Certified Wish Granter,” and raised more than $78,500 for Make-A-Wish. In 2011, President Barack Obama recognized Cara’s charitable efforts. Cara is a national dance champion and trained four summers with The Rockettes. Cara’s recent work in the United States Senate and her passion for helping others ignited her own wish – to become the first Miss America from North Dakota.

Founded in 1921, the Miss America Organization is one of the nation’s leading advocates for women’s education and the largest provider of scholarship assistance to young women. The Miss America Organization and its state organizations award millions in cash and in-kind scholarships annually. The Miss America Organization also provides young women with a vehicle to further their personal and professional goals and instills within them a spirit of community service through a variety of nationwide community-based programs. 

dick clark productions and the Miss America Organization collaborates on all creative, marketing, sponsorship, licensing, ticketing and distribution elements of the show. The companies also work together to develop and leverage the historic brand in new business ventures and programming. Tony Eaton and Tall Pony Productions continue to produce the annual Miss America Competition.

Famous Miss Americas include: Lee Meriwether, Mary Ann Mobley, Phyllis George, Vanessa Williams, and Gretchen Carlson.

The 51 contestants who competed for the title of Miss America 2018 represented all 50 states as well as the District of Columbia.


View Reel

Press: gsorial@dickclark.com

Partnerships: mnieporent@dickclark.com

Sponsorships: mmango@dickclark.com

Licensing: jjames@dickclark.com

Latest News